WAESOL, the Washington state affiliate of Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL), is a professional, non-profit organization whose purposes are to:

  • Promote scholarship
  • Disseminate information related to ESL
  • Strengthen at all levels instruction and research in TESOL and dialects
  • Cooperate in appropriate ways with other groups sharing similar concerns
  • Serve members of the ESL community in the state of Washington

Recent Updates

  • WAESOL is 40!  Click HERE for information about the 40th anniversary of WAESOL and to read interviews of leaders in our profession.
  •  2016 WAESOL Board 
    • President – Dr. Martha Savage
    • President Elect – Dr. Caroline Payant
    • Treasurer – Dr. Joan Johnston Nelson
    • Assistant Treasurer – Naomi Hagen
    • Recording Secretary – Anikke Trier
    • Members-at-large
      • Michelle Roth
      • Dawn Allen
      • Megan Nestor
      • Laura Soracco
      • Nizar Sulaivany
      • Nasrin Nazemi
      • Christopher Micek
      • Jeanne-Marie Wright
Photo of Mt. Rainier by Mike Drinkall